Thank You to Everyone Who Made the 2019 Picnic a Success

Posted on

Hello Westwood neighbors,

We hope everyone who attended last weekend’s WCA picnic and annual meeting had a great time! We need to say a tremendous thank you to the Westwood Club for providing the food and staff; Crazy Greek Restaurant, Metro Diner, and Chocolate Cravings for gift certificates and special coupons; the magician The Amazing Mr. B; the incredible staff of the Henrico County Recreation and Parks Department; and all the volunteers who made this possible, especially Emily LeVasseur, who led the organization efforts!

We’d also like to say a special thank you to our VIP guests including Henrico County Supervisor for the Brookland District Dan Schmitt, Virginia State Delegate Debra Rodman, and Sharon Smidley from the Henrico County Department of Public Works, who gave a presentation on the exciting new plans for pedestrian safety features/new pedestrian walkway on Bremo Road.

Great news: Westwood residents donated more than 140 pounds of food to the food drive this year. The bulk goes to Feed More, and we also make a donation to the St. Mary’s Hospital Guest House.

Thank you to longtime board member Mary Hensley and to Chris Minnigh for their service — they have both decided to retire — we will miss you!  And thank you to Sam Gage for his previous terms as Neighborhood Watch Chair. Thanks to Chris Minnigh, Rich Terrell, Jack Heisler, and Andrew LeVasseur for heading up the nominating committee this year and creating the following slate of board officers, members, and new Neighborhood Watch Co-Chairs, which received a resounding, unanimous yes vote by those present at the annual meeting held during the picnic.

Congratulations to our new board members and officers who will take office for the term of July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020:
President:  Emily Dunstan
Vice President:  Rich Terrell
Treasurer:  Jack Heisler
Secretary:  Emily LeVasseur
Immediate Past President:  Maria Holperin Terrell

Returning/previous board members:
Jensey Ancarrow
Sam Gage
David Knight
Jolyn Johnson-Smith
Andrew LeVasseur
Chip Loving
Siyano Prach
Rick Sayed

New board members:
Dale Davis
Carrie Suders

Our new Neighborhood Watch Co-Chairs are Emily LeVasseur and Maria Holperin Terrell.

See you around the neighborhood!

Maria Holperin Terrell
Westwood Civic Association

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s